Marisa: Travel Blogger, Founder of This World Traveled

Name: Marisa Cooke

Age: 31

City: Clayton, NC

Main Hustle: Dental Hygienist. Yoga Instructor.

Side Hustle: Founder and Travel Blogger at This World Traveled.

How did you get started?: I started travel blogging while living overseas in Italy as a way to document my adventures and share traveling tips with others. I had been consistently traveling for awhile, exploring over 60 countries, and knew that my experiences could be helpful for others when they were trying to plan their own trips. Therefore I created a site that not only documents my personal travels and experiences but also offers recommendations and tips to make traveling around the world easier.

When/where do you work on your Side Hustle?: I work on my travel blog when I am at home or on the road. Luckily all I really need is my computer and some good wifi!

What are the challenges of your Side Hustle?: The challenges of a travel blog is finding a way to continually fund my travels, so that I can create new content for my site.

What are the rewards of your Side Hustle?: It’s been amazing getting positive feedback about my site and the information that I provide. My biggest compliments are on my photography and my recommendations for food, shopping, and where to stay. Writing and creating content for my site is also just an awesome excuse to travel more!

Who is your greatest supporter?: My family and friends.

Who/what is your greatest source of inspiration?: I am constantly inspired by some of the big name travel bloggers who seem to have it all figured out but started small as well. It is amazing to see how others have created these huge platforms and have inspired so many people around the world to get out and explore the world. I hope to be an inspiration to other wanderlusters in the near future.

What is your dream for your Side Hustle?: My absolute dream would be to make This World Traveled into a full time job. It would be so magical to create content from all over the world that inspires others to book their next trip and travel to far-flung destinations across the globe. I am deeply inspired by adventurous, eco-friendly travel and anything that involves safe animal encounters, so I would love to create a focus on this type of travel.

Do you have any advice for others working on a Side Hustle?:

Keep working towards your goals and focus on your vision. If it makes you happy, do it. There is nothing more rewarding that doing something that creates balance and happiness in your own life.

 

Follow Marisa’s travel adventures on her website, Instagram, and Facebook, or reach out to her via email to connect or collaborate!

IMG_3087IMG_5710LEICA CAMERA AG_27122176-27224577448L1050138

Author: virginiakinnier

Founder of Side Hustle

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.